Happy Friday!

Happy Friday everyone!  I’m sure everyone is ready for the weekend, because I sure am!  So far everything that I’ve mentioned have been previous food adventures, so today, I’d like to share with you a few of the quick weeknight dishes I made this week.

After all the binge eating at a friend’s BBQ last Sunday–I pretty much was hovering over the dining table snacking the entire time!!  Gahh!!  We thought perhaps trying to eat a bit healthier during the week would be a good idea.  “Healthy” eating to me, somehow always means eating fish, and the easiest go-to fish for me always seems to be pan-fried salmon.  I happened to find a new salmon ginger  glazed recipe on the AllRecipes website (one of the sites I go to the most) and thought that it would be a nice change from the salmon that I usually make.

So here it is..a delicious combination of sweet, sour, spicy, ginger, garlic and basil.  YUM!  It’s also pretty easy to make (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Fast-Salmon-with-a-Ginger-Glaze/Detail.aspx?src=VD_Summary).  And to continue with the ‘healthy’ idea, some roasted zucchini and squash with garlic and shallots.

Another site that I refer to often for Asian recipes is RasaMalaysia (www.rasamalaysia.com).  It’s a awesome site that has a wide assortment of recipes from all of the different regions of Asia, and always contains some sort of background on the dish, as well as beautiful pictures.  It’s a great site to get ideas from when you are looking for something new to make.  I love Thai food, and saw a recipe for Basil Chicken, also known as Gai Pad Krapow (http://rasamalaysia.com/thai-basil-chicken-recipe-gai-pad-krapow/) and thought it’d be a nice tasty quick recipe to make, not to mention I could use up all of the basil from the salmon 🙂
To make a slightly leaner version, I used ground turkey instead of chicken, and it just happened to be cheaper!  While shopping for groceries, I saw some Japanese eggplant and thought I’d give it a shot and try making it for the first time.  I stir fried it with some bell pepper and the leftover ground turkey.  Both dishes came out pretty good, and cooking time was less then half an hour.
 
I should really work on my picture taking skills…Okay, well, I’m off to start my weekend!
Enjoy everyone!
Leave a Reply

