what a good deal!

Yesterday I had a nice girly date with MissP.  We got mani/pedis and I got one green sparkly nail on each hand to get in the spirit of St. Patty’s Day on Sunday 😛
We decided to grab dinner at Sunflower Vietnamese Restaurant in Pot Hill.  I have been there only once before with SW and we both agreed that although it does cater more towards an ‘American’ crowd, we thought it was still pretty good.  That first time, SW and I were in the midst of ordering our dinner, we had named our first 3 dishes, our server (who was not friendly in the first place, no smiles and looked a bit mean honestly) bluntly cut us off by saying, “That’s enough”.  Ohhh…um..okay?
Gee.  Reminds me of the Soup Nazi from Seinfeld–“NO SOUP FOR YOU!!”
Like really?!!  What if we wanted leftovers?  Which reminds me, yes, I’m going on a tangent here.  I went to Bix recently with my other buddy MissD, who by the way is also one of my eating buddies.  I enjoy eating with her because we both like to eat a lot and order lots of foodsss.   We got 3 apps, 2 entrees, and 2 sides, and the server gave us a funny look for ordering all that, but guess what?  We finished it alllll.  So there!  Kind servers:  Please do not size us up and tell us how much we should or should not eat………unless we are obese and need to be told for our health.  Thank you.
Anyway, back to my story.  MissP and I were slow in deciding to what to eat–order our own dish or do family style?  We knew that we wanted to try the Vietnamese Hot & Sour Soup, but didn’t know if we should get the small or large size.  Of course, we get the same mean server as the first time I went.  MissP politely asks which size, and before we have even told her what we’re getting, she answers “Small one good enough.”  Gah.  Okay, fine.  small please.
The two guys sitting next to us were both eating the steamed sea bass as their entrees (it must bethat good?)..and it did look pretty delicious.
So we order:
Vietnamese Hot & Sour Soup..s.m.a.l.l.  size
Steamed Chilean Sea Bass (Seasonal)
Claypot rice with Chinese sausage (yuuummm), mushrooms, chicken and shrimp
BBQ Pork Vermicelli bowl with Imperial Rolls
Yeah, we know it would probably be too much food..and I almost never order vermicelli bowls, so I totally forget how big they come, especially if there are imperial rolls included.  Our small soup comes out first.  Both of us look at it disappointingly, thinking “that’s it?”  It sure was tasty though..sweet, sour, with chunks of pineapple in it.  Yes, I love pineapple in savory dishes hehe.  Could have used a bit more spice, but still, it was yummy.
Claypot rice comes out..delish of course.  Anything with Chinese sausage is f*ing good.
Vermicelli comes out..okay..shorts are getting a little tighter (it was like 75 degrees in SF yesterday–justifiable shorts-wearing weather).  We’re both thinking..okay..when is our fish coming?  Need to save some room…
And then…it comes.
Both of us are like omg…definitely family sized portion.  Not sure if you can tell from my photo, but it was pretty much a huge slab of sea bass….what a deal!!!!!! hahha  That portion was probably the portion for 4 people’s entrees at an American restaurant.  All for the bargain price of $24.95!   Okay, I’m not only excited because it was a large quantity (which I liked) but it was SO reasonably priced, and not to mention, really good!  I haven’t had sea bass or that sort of Asian style black bean sauce fish in quite a while, so it was a welcomed change for my palate.
I can’t believe the guys next to us, each ate one hahha
I’ll definitely be going back there again!  I just hope we don’t get the mean server again.
*******************
I don’t eat out often for lunch, but today SW worked from home, so we enjoyed a nice lunch at Serpentine (www.serpentinesf.com/).
I got the Celery Root Vegetable and Apple Soup, as well as the Savory Veggie Bread Pudding:
I love soups..and when the server said celery root, it reminded me of the delicious celery soup we had at Frances one time.  I didn’t ever expect a celery soup to taste that way or to be that good, but I *really* enjoyed it.  This one today didn’t quite compare in taste and maybe it not being hot (more like lukewarm) had something to do with it?
SW got the Red Flannel Hash (beef brisket, beets, poached egg, and potatoes):
This time, he reminded me to save some room for Mr & Mrs Miscellaneous (https://plus.google.com/111827052859919114128/about?gl=us&hl=en).  Usually I’m way too full, and they’re open weird hours so I’ve only been there once.  I must have really wanted some ice cream today, because I barely ate any of my lunch, and that doesn’t happen often.
Who needs to eat lunch, when you can eat this!! 🙂
Pink Squirrel — Almond and Chocolate Liqueur
mmmm..it was so yummy..especially when I got down to the sugar cone part and it was nice and crunchy.  I wish I got one larger then the junior size.  Oh well.  Next time!
Leave a Reply

