speaking of salts…

So yesterday I was talking about all the salts from the cooking class.  I would have been scratching my head curiously thinking that I didn’t know all of these salts existed, had it not been for the salt platter from Alexanders! (http://www.alexanderssteakhouse.com/sf_site/san_francisco_information.html)

Alexander’s is a contemporary steakhouse (is that a even a category?)  Meaning, they serve more then just your usual steak, salads, sides and other standard fare that most steakhouses have.  I have to say that the presentation of their food is a lot more artistic than most steakhouses.  Not to mention, they have a lot of variety in their menu–lamb, duck, seafood items, as well as several different types of the coveted wagyu steak..most of them from Japan, and not only the ‘American Style Kobe’ that you see more commonly.

We had dinner with a couple of friends there recently.   It was a slightly early dinner for us — 6:30PM. I’ve been to Alexander’s before, and for some reason, that night, I decided I wanted to try their wagyu.  Oh, I remember, I saw the price listed and I thought..wow, that’s really not much more then a normal steak, whereas previously I had heard it is normally like $200+ for a steak.  I didn’t read the fine print that the prices listed were for a 3oz piece.  After I realized it would literally be a meat nugget, I figured, I wasn’t too hungry anyways, and there were appetizers, sides, etc. My mind was set on wagyu steak and I wanted to see if I could tell the difference between that and, say a filet mignon.

We had a few apps to start (more on that later)..and then our entrees came.  Again, my apologies for the dark photo.  And all this talk about great presentation,  and my wagyu nugget arrives solo on a black plate.  You probably can’t even see it, but it’s there! Let me say this…what it was lacking in presentation on the plate, was made up by the accompanying salt tray!  They have a ‘salt guy’ or maybe you can call him a ‘salt master’! hah  He described every single salt, what it’s taste and texture would be like, where it was from…and also left a paper with a description of every salt, in case I forgot what they were!  We were all thoroughly impressed by his abundance of salt knowledge!   Again, because I didn’t read the fine print, I didn’t know that their wagyu is served with a ‘tasting of salts’ so it was a pleasant surprise.  I recall thinking as he was going over each of the 12 salts that the last time I was impressed by someone’s description and knowledge of items was with the cheese cart at Gary Danko’s.

Having the salts made it more interesting, and yes, I shared it with the table 🙂  Each salt had different textures or tastes and it was interesting just tasting them alone and seeing how they varied.
So that is my story about salts!!
Other parts of the dinner included (sorry more dark photos..but you get the idea):
Appetizers
The “original” hamachi shot:  avocado / ginger / fresno chile / truffled ponzu sauce / lime
Niman Ranch Pork Belly:  soy-braised belly / dates / pear sunomono / black sesame
Caviar Cannolo:  hm…it’s no longer listed on the menu on their site.  Guess it wasn’t a good seller.  Maybe people wanted cannoli instead of cannolo!
Little Gem Caesar:  62.5 degree onsen egg / romaine / traditional flavors
(Such a precise temperature for the egg!  This was all mine to supplement my meat nugget)
Entrees
Grilled Filet Mignon:  bordelaise / chive
the “perfect porterhouse”:  niman ranch strip steak / petite filet mignon / bone marrow
wet-aged t-bone 24 oz:  “a balance of salt and acid” / grilled limon / trio of salts => nothing compared to my tray of salts 😛
lone mountain cattle u.s.:  domestic full blood wagyu
Sides
truffled french fries:  sundried tomato – tonkatsu aïoli / schichimi
and some others which I don’t remember now….hehe
Overall, an enjoyable experience!  I probably sound like a broken record because when have Inot enjoyed eating??
No plans yet for the weekend so we’ll see where my food adventures will take me!
Enjoy~!
One thought on “speaking of salts…

  1. Pingback: celebration with ‘the tomohawk’! | iheartfood

Leave a Reply

