sushirrito with me, the chaperone..

I have half siblings, twins actually, that are in high school. My half sister mentioned to me that since they were on spring break this week, that she was finally going to go to Sushirrito (http://www.sushirrito.com/) in downtown SF. I told her it was close to where I live and that maybe I would join her.

Yes. I did it. I invited myself to hang out with her and her friends. Honestly I’m not sure why I did it. I’m thinking about it right now, and I still don’t know. She’s a really nice and sweet girl, much nicer then I was at her age, and I knew she wouldn’t say no to me tagging along.

After I invited myself..I started over-thinking again:

What if her friends are like “who’s the old chick and what’s she doing here??”

“does she think we need a chaperone?”

and I think..

“omg, what if I embarrass her?! maybe this isn’t a good idea. i should just let her enjoy her time with her friends”

She said it was okay if I went, and so, I went. I’m glad she told them I was joining them beforehand, so it wasn’t a surprise when I showed up. They made it safely on BART and were standing in line when I got there. They all looked like babies, they looked sooo young to me. It’s hard to believe they’ll be driving soon. (They should really bump the driving age up to 18 or something!..they’re too little and young to drive!)

Anyways, it was cute seeing them all together and their interactions. It was the first time I had seen her in her element with her friends, and it was fun to observe. I didn’t say or do anything to embarrass her..I’m not that old and awkward yet haha.

We each ordered our ‘sushi burrito’ and then sat down to eat.

I got the:

Geisha’s Kiss Yellowfin Tuna (Hand-Caught), Tamago, Piquillo Peppers, Yuzu Tobiko, Lotus Chips, Cucumber, Butter Lettuce, Avocado, Green Onions

Sauce: Sesame White Soya

geisha'skiss

I still think the concept is pretty cool! I wonder if they started it? Although it was really good with the different flavors and textures, it was a little messy to eat. There were nice big buttery chunks of tuna and the lotus chips gave it a a nice crunch and a different flavor.

After we were done eating, I left them to roam the streets of downtown on their own. Reminds me of the days when I was young….aw…taking the bus to get somewhere fun and then wandering around the mall. Oh wait, I still do that, but mainly by myself these days 😛

2 thoughts on “sushirrito with me, the chaperone..

Leave a Reply

