le charm was charming!

I’ve seen Le Charm French Bistro numerous times, but for some reason, never thought to try it until last Thursday when we had dinner with MissP + bf.  She suggested it and like that, it was decided!  I wish it was always that easy to decide what/where to eat.

toplogo2 2

315 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94107 – 415-546-6128

http://www.lecharm.com

Anyhow, upon looking at their menu before dinner, I became quite excited…the food looked good, and the prices, again were very reasonable!  Lately I haven’t been as excited about food, sadly, so I was happy to be looking forward to eating again!

Usually when I think of ‘reasonably priced but good’ French food, the place that comes to mind is always Chapeau! (www.chapeausf.com) which has been around for quite some time, but that’s in the Richmond.  Nearby, we’ll go to Chez Papa Bistro in Potrero Hill (www.chezpapasf.com) from time to time.  I was excited to see that Le Charm offers a prix fix menu with 3 courses for only $35 😀  What a deal!  Hopefully…it’s good, right?

Upon arriving, the ambiance definitely did have charm!  It was cute and quaint, and we were seated outside on the covered patio.  The lights gave it a nice cozy feel, and because it was Thursday, they had a live band playing music.  To top it off, it was nice to catch up with friends again.

SW and I both decided to order off of the prix fix.

To start:

crab salad

Croustillant of snow crab mixed green salad, confit tomato and pomegranate dressing

soup

Onion Soup Gratinée with croutons and gruyère cheese

I have to say that for some reason, the crab salad didn’t sound appetizing..I thought it would be just a cold, bland, salad.  I am really glad that SW got it, because it was really good.  The flavors and of course the fried crispiness of the crab was opposite of what I thought it would be.  I opted for the soup, because , well, I love soup, and it was soup + onions + cheese, but the salad was definitely better.  It was a great way to start off the meal!

For Entrees:

salmon

Pan seared Loch Duart salmon, beurre blanc sauce, spinach and pommes dauphines

coq au vin

Coq au Vin: braised chicken in red wine sauce, bacon, mushrooms and mashed potatoes

I ordered the salmon, and when it came out..I jokingly commented to SW, “Look, this is what a normal person’s portion looks like!”.  The ‘pomme dauphines’ were like little tater tots.  Both dishes were good…but it’s hard to quite focus on food when you are eating with others and there is wine involved…

For dessert:

profiteroles

Profiteroles: cream puffs filled with vanilla ice cream and served with chocolate sauce and almonds

vanilla bread pudding

Vanilla caramel Brioche pudding with cranberry

I thought overall it was a great restaurant.  I liked it.  I will definitely go back to order the crab salad for myself, as well as try some of the other dishes.  I enjoyed both the food, the ambiance and the live music, and the company sure was fun and entertaining.  Let’s just say there were some stories of high speed car chases that involved a helicopter…not mine of course haha!

Leave a Reply

