bday festivities

it’s someone’s ’21st birthday’ for the 14th time…yes, yours truly! hah  i feel very lucky and blessed to have so many close friends that have already been helping me celebrate 🙂

The festivities began last week, and continued into the weekend.  Saturday, we had a small dinner with friends at:

Screen shot 2013-09-17 at 4.17.10 PM

631 Kearny Street
San Francisco, CA
631 Kearny Street
rnglounge.com

 their ‘signature dish’ —  live deep fried crab with salt and pepper, as well as their ginger & scallions crab yuuum…haven’t had R&G in quite some time, so it was definitely a nice treat.  then if was off to karaoke to sing my heart out at YamaSho.  Probably only SW and one other person there knew beforehand I’m a closet karaoke fanatic 😛  lol

What else could make my bday more special?

The next day it was off to hang out with my favorite people and see my other favorite things — ANIMALS.  Yes, I’m a giant kid, not big kid…giant kid!  MissD thought I would really enjoy going to Six Flags Discovery Kingdom to celebrate my bday.  She knows me well!  MissD & MissP + boys accompanied me to Discovery Kingdom on Sunday and I had a lot of fun!  Not only did she take me on a romantic elephant ride, just her and i…

IMG_4140 IMG_4141

but I also got to feed some giraffes!

IMG_4150

check out their long blue tongues! such fun creatures they are!

watched a cool tiger show, and of course, rode a few roller coasters!  I’m glad I’m not too old for that!

******************************

my coworkers took me out today for bday lunch to:

image 2

Sushi Kei

407 Broadway, Millbrae, CA 94030

http://www.sushikeiusa.net

My first time there and it was pretty good.  There were actually a few items that I’ve never had before, so I thought it was pretty interesting:

image

beef stew (tender and flavorful), giant clam sashimi + abalone sashimi, which was a first for me. it was really crunchy!  definitely different then the other times I’ve had abalone at Chinese restaurants.

image_2

bonito nigiri, ocean trout, hamachi. the bonito was interesting too..that was also another new fish I’ve never had before, and i don’t think i’ve ever seen brown colored fish!

image_1

white tuna sashimi

image_4

nigiri platter..check out the size of the tamago. i also secretly love tamago, but never order it 😛

image_5

chu toro sashimi – nice buttery texture!

***********************************

image_6

succulent + cactus plant from kewpie & purty flowers from my coworker.  (i’ve sort of really been into plants recently hah)

😀

 

 

One thought on “bday festivities

  1. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! i shouldn’t be reading your food blog this early in the morning – i’m already drooling, and my stomach is growling! mmm, hamachi & toro… and elephant… and giraffe… and its abnormally long black tongue. is sushi kei something i should try? it’s so close to me! more importantly: where is the critique and pics from the dinner?!

Leave a Reply

